A 24-member National Road Safety Advisory Council has been inaugurated by Acting President Yemi Osinbajo.

The inauguration took place on Thursday, February 16, during the National Economic Council meeting presided over by Osinbajo.

Inauguration of the National Road Safety Advisory Council
The inauguration is in line with the United Nations General Assembly’s adoption in March 2010, of a resolution towards improving global road safety and reducing road accident related deaths.

The 24-member council has Osinbajo as its chairman. Other members include six state governors drawn from each of the six geopolitical zones of the country, the Sec­retary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal and some ministers:

They governors in the council are:

1. Governor Akin­wunmi Ambode of Lagos state for the south west

2. Governor Willie Obiano of Anambra state for south east

3. Governor If­eanyi Okowa of Delta state for south south

4. Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna for north west

5. Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe state for north east

6. Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara state for north central

Osinbajo with members of the National Road Safety Advisory Council
The ministers in the coun­cil are:

7. Minister of transport Rotimi Amaechi

8. Minister of power, works and housing Babatunde Fashola

9. Minister of education Adamu Adamu

10. Minister of state for health Osagie Ehani­re

11. Minister of Environment

12. Minister of finance Kemi Adeosun

13. Minister of Justice Abubakar Malami

14. Minister of labour and productivity Chris Ngige

15. Minister of Interior Abdulrahman Dambazau

16. Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Mohammed Bello

17. Minister of information and culture Lai Mohammed

18. Minister of budget and national planning Udo Udoma

19. National Security Adviser (NSA)

20. Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF)

21. President of the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA)

22. President of the Nigeria Society of Engineering (NSE)

23. Corp Marshall of the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s